PAL announces National Literary Awards

Staff Report

Daily Times, Friday, August 10, 2007

ISLAMABAD: The Pakistan Academy of Letters (PAL) announced prominent writer and scholar Jameel-ud-Din Aali as winner of the Kamal-e-Fun Award 2006.

The jury, including Dr Saleem Akhtar, Prof Fateh Muhammad Malik, Prof Dr Pirzada Qasim Raza Siddiqui, Aftab Iqbal Shamim, Dr Tariq Rehman, Dr Riaz Majeed, Zaitoon Bano, Abdul Qadir Janjua, Dr Rubina Tareen and Munir Ahmed Badini, met here at the offices of PAL as Dr Akhter presided over the meeting. The Kamal-e-Fun Award is the highest literary award in the field of literature to recognise lifetime achievement in creative and research work. The award carries a cash prize of Rs 500,000.

PAL also announced the National Literary Awards for the year 2006 on the best books written during the year in languages including Urdu, Punjabi, Sindhi, Pashto, Balochi, Seraiki, Brahvi and English.

According to the decision of the panel for Urdu poetry, the Dr Allama Muhammad Iqbal Award has been given to Anwar Shaoor on his book “Me Raqsam”. In Urdu prose, the Baba-i-Urdu Maulvi Abdul Haq Award has been given to Dr Jamil Jalibi on his book “Tareekh-e-Adab-e-Urdu. In Punjabi, the Syed Waris Shah Award has been given to Nazeer Kahut on his book “Daryaburd”, in Sindhi, the Shah Abdul Latif Bhitai Award has been given to Zarab Haider on his book “Zindagi-a- Jo Safar: Toon Ain Man”. In Pashto, the Kushhal Khan Kahattak Award has been given to Dr Muhammad Humayoon Huma on his book “Da Qand Handara: Pashto Adab Peh Taraki Da Qand Mujale Barkha”. In Balochi, the Mast Tawakli Award has been given to Muhammad Baig Begal on his book “Joker”. In Seraiki, the Khwaja Ghulam Farid Award has been given to Irshad Taunsvi on his book “Nadi na Sanjok”, in Brahvi, the Taj Muhammad Tajal Award has been given to Zauq Brahui on his book “Kamal” and in English the Pitras Bukhari Award has been given to Moni Mohsin on her book “The End of Innocence”.

The winners of the National Literary Awards will each be presented cash prizes of Rs 50,000.

Back to Apna Home Page